Make a Mark: Kindergarten

Image

This little lesson was inspired by children’s book author and illustrator, Peter H. Reynolds.  I plan on reading two of his books, “Ish” and “The Dot,” next week in class.  Peter’s books encourage children to let go of their fear of ‘doing it right’ to just make a mark and see where it takes you!

Kindergarteners are becoming more and more familiar with their art materials and now know the difference between watercolor paints, chalk pastels, and oil pastels.  We experimented with watercolor resist while working on our sailboats, but I wanted to introduce the idea of “abstract art” with the kids.  Not ever picture has to look like something recognizable.

Each child got a blue oil pastel and began making loops and scribbles across their page.ImageImageImage

Once their crazy squiggles were unleashed, I passed out watercolor paints and showed kids how to try to paint inside all of their intersecting lines and bubbles.

ImageImageImageImageImage

Needless to say, Kindergarteners had no problem being brave and making a mark!  This was a fun exercise to try out with them.

 ImageImageImageImageImage

-Mrs. Heinlein

PS. In case you happened to notice a monkey wrapped around your child’s neck…this was our first week bringing out the monkeys.  Students get “monkey’d” when they have been caught showing good behavior. More on that later! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Make a Mark: Kindergarten

  1. Erica Price

    I used to do something like this when I was bored in school. I’d scribble all over the paper in pen then start filling in the tiny abstract spaces with colors. It was very meditative, actually. Probably why I didn’t make great grades! BTW, Rosa Leigh told me all about the monkeys last week. Great idea. I think the monkeys need to visit the Price household sometime.

    Reply
    1. mrsheinlein Post author

      That’s awesome! I got the idea from my Dad. I have a little brother who is 4 years younger than me and when we were really little, we would have drawing competitions by the fireplace. One year, little brother (he was 2 at the time) just made tons of scribbles on his paper. I said something like, “Hey, all he did was scribble!” And then Dad took some markers and started filling in all the little bubbles where the lines and loops intersected. I remember thinking it was so cool and that became my ‘new thing’ for awhile! You are welcome to borrow the monkeys anytime. It was one of my weird, impulsive ideas that seemed to work. Kids love those monkeys.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

